Georgia is one of The Strictest DUI States in the Nation
The authorities take driving under the influence of alcohol seriously in all states. However, Georgia is one of the strictest DUI states in the nation.
Georgia was identified as one of the most no-nonsense DUI states in a recent survey in WalletHub.
Researchers looked at the drunk driving laws and the consequences of driving impaired in 50 states and Washington, D.C. The team used 15 key metrics such as minimum jail times for a first and second conviction, vehicle impound rates, and mandatory alcohol assessment. The research team considered criminal penalties and prevention policies.
Georgia was highlighted as one of the strictest DUI states. It was the second harshest in the nation. Arizona took the top spot. Georgia has an uncompromising approach to drunk driving. Offenders may be jailed for 10 days for a first conviction and 90 days for a second. DUI offenders also face the suspension of their driver’s licenses for 360 days, the highest of all U.S. states.
The Peach State is also known for its rigorous DUI enforcement. This includes sobriety checkpoints, no refusal policies for search warrants for intoxication tests, and child endangerment programs.
Many people who drink alcohol and drive in Georgia are unaware of the harshness of the rules in the state. While the potential sentence for a first offense is harsh, second-time offenders face a minimum sentence of 72 hours of jail time and fines of at least $10,000.
A third DUI will land an offender in jail for at least 15 days if the offenses occur within a 10-year period. A fourth DUI in a decade is a felony DUI. Offenders face an absolute minimum of 90 days in jail or state prison.
WalletHub found repeat drunk driving offenders spend an average of nearly three weeks more in jail than first-time offenders. Almost 90 percent of U.S. states require drunk driving offenders to equip their vehicles with ignition interlock devices after a DUI. Mandatory participation in alcohol-abuse treatment and assessment program is required after a DUI conviction in 37 states.
At the Law Office of Michael West, we represent people charged with drunk driving. People charged with DUI in Georgia are often unaware of their rights. It’s important to hire an experienced Georgia criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible after a DUI arrest. Call us at (404) 913-1529.