Georgia has a legal DUI limit of 0.08 percent blood/alcohol concentration. This refers to the percent of alcohol in a person’s bloodstream. A BAC of 0.08 percent means that a driver’s blood supply contains one part alcohol for every 1000 parts blood.
BAC readings mean little to most drivers. They are more interested in the question of how many drinks it takes to reach the legal limit in Georgia.
This is not a straightforward question because different people’s bodies react differently to alcohol. Police look for drivers who are impaired and pose a danger to others on the roads of Georgia. The best rule of thumb is don’t take the chance. Abstain from drinking any alcohol if you are going to drive. Appoint a designated driver or call an Uber or a Lyft driver.
According to Ignition Interlock Help, a drink unit comprises one 12 fluid ounce drink of beer, one 5 fl. oz. glass of wine, or a single 1.5 fl. oz. shot of liquor. Generally, it takes about three alcoholic drinks an hour for a woman to reach the 0.08 BAC and about four drinks an hour for men to reach the DUI limit.
People drinking alcohol should not rely on these guidelines. It’s now possible to obtain increasingly strong beer at the many breweries that have sprung up in Georgia and elsewhere.
The number of drinks it takes to reach the legal limit in Georgia depends on the following factors:
- The weight of the person;
- Body fat percentage;
- The length of time between drinks;
- The amount of food you have consumed:
- The body’s functional tolerance to alcohol;
- Any medications you are taking.
You should always err on the side of caution when drinking alcohol. The guidelines suggest a person who weighs about 100 lbs., will reach the limit of 0.08 after just one drink. A person who weighs 160 lbs. might pass a breath test after three servings. If you have had three servings in rapid succession, you are likely to be over the legal drunk driving limit in Georgia.
Avoid taking the chance. Drinking and driving is like playing Russian roulette on the roads of Georgia. You may pass a test but you should be aware that Breathalyzers are not always reliable. Georgia has some of the stiffest sentences for drunk driving in the country.
If you have been charged with a DUI in Georgia, please call the Law Office of Michael West today at (404) 913-1529.