Five Mistakes that can Harm Your Georgia Personal Injury Case

People who are hurt in car, truck, pedestrian, or motorcycle accidents are often shaken up as well as being badly injured. They struggle to think coherently. In some cases, this may jeopardize a Georgia personal injury case.

Sadly, people who deserve compensation after a wreck often lose out on the money they need to get their life back on track by making basic mistakes. You can save yourself from these pitfalls by hiring a personal injury attorney early in the process.

Not all of these mistakes will prevent you recovering money. However, many of them can leave you with less than you deserve and need to cover ongoing medical bills.

In the immediate aftermath of an auto accident, your life can be turned upside down. It can be difficult to keep track of what you should be doing to help your legal case. Here are five critical mistakes that can impact your Georgia personal injury case.

Mistakes harm a Georgia personal injury case

Mistakes that can harm a Georgia personal injury case

1 Not Getting Medical Treatment Quickly

If you delay getting medical treatment, you may end up suffering needless complications. The insurance company for the other driver may claim your injuries were not serious because you did not see a doctor right away. Delaying medical treatment as well as significant gaps in your treatment may jeopardize your case or at least make it more difficult.

2 Making Damaging Admissions at the Accident scene

You should be very careful about what you say at an accident scene, whether to another driver, a witness or the investigating officer. Never admit liability. Even if you believe you caused an accident, you should not admit fault. Stick to the facts in your statement to the investigating officer. If you dismiss your injuries, your comments may be used against you. Don’t say “I’m fine.” Often the symptoms of an accident set in at a later date.

3 Handling a Lawsuit on Your Own

A personal injury attorney can help your case after a car, truck or motorcycle accident or a slip-and-fall accident. Handling a complicated personal injury case on your own can be a dangerous proposition. Not only does an attorney know all of the procedures to safeguard his or her client, but an insurance company may take your case more seriously if you hired a lawyer. Recently, Lawyers.com reported people who are represented by attorneys received an average of $77,600 in compensation, compared to just $17,600 for those who settled a personal injury claim on their own.

4 Giving Inaccurate Medical Details

You should not give untruthful medical details to an insurance company or a personal injury lawyer. If you try to hide a pre-existing medical condition, for example, it will likely be discovered and make you appear to be unreliable.

5 Accepting the First Offer You Receive

It is usually a mistake to accept an early offer. Often insurance companies will make a lowball offer in the hope you will accept it out of desperation. An attorney will advise you not to accept the first offer you receive. If the offer is made too early, the full extent of your medical needs may not be apparent. Although people who have been hurt in a wreck are often in need of fast cash, accepting the first offer you receive is almost always a mistake.

There are many other mistakes the victims of car crashes can make like failing to file a lawsuit on time. If you or a loved one has been hurt in a wreck, you should consult a Newnan personal injury lawyer. We can advise you if you have a case during a consultation. Call us at (404) 913-1529.