Hit-and-Run Driver Killed Pedestrian in Decatur
Another pedestrian has been killed by a hit-and-run driver, this time in Decatur. Police in the city were reported to be seeking a hit-and-run driver who fatally hit a pedestrian with a vehicle and left the scene.
Typically, hit-and-run accidents occur late at night and early in the morning. The crash in early February occurred around 3.30 a.m. on the 300 block of East College Avenue in Decatur.
Anthony Lingoes, a 33-year-old pedestrian, was taken to an area hospital for treatment of critical injuries. He was later pronounced dead.
A report on CBS46 noted the incident was investigated as a hit-and-run. Police did not have any suspects in custody.
We were saddened to read about the death of this pedestrian. There is never an excuse for leaving the scene of an accident.
In Georgia, as in all other states, drivers have an obligation to remain at the scene of a collision with injuries.
The law says drivers have a duty to stop or return to the scene of a wreck. If the crash leads to an injury or death, the driver must immediately stop at or close to the scene of the accident. Failure to do so constitutes a hit-and run and carries criminal sanctions.
As well as stopping at the scene of a wreck, drivers have an obligation to provide certain information, namely:
- Their name and identity
- Their address
- The registration number of the vehicle driven.
Drivers must if requested by the driver or an occupant of the vehicle involved in crash provide their driver’s license number.
Drivers must help anyone injured in the crash. This usually involves calling 9-1-1 and requesting emergency services to transport the injured party to the hospital.
Even if nobody is hurt, you can face a misdemeanor charge for a hit-and-run in Georgia if you depart an accident scene. Fines range from $300 to $1,000 and drivers could be imprisoned for a year and have their licenses suspended.
Drivers who leave the scenes of wrecks that result in serious or fatal injuries are charged with felonies and could serve as long as five years in jail.
If a hit-and-run driver is apprehended after a wreck, the injured party or family members of a deceased driver, passenger or a pedestrian can file a lawsuit.
If you have purchased uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage, you may be able to file a claim with your own insurance company when the at-fault driver cannot be found.
If you were injured in a car wreck involving a hit-and-run driver or another driver, please call the Law Office of Michael West in Newnan at (404) 913-1529.